
PRE-QUALIFICATION REQUIREMENTS FOR 

KENAI RIVER GUIDES 

 

To pre-qualify for issuance of a 2020 permit, all Kenai River Guide permit applicants shall be required to 

submit the following information. Please take time to look them over. 

 

1. Applicants for Kenai River guide permits must be 18 years of age. 
 

2. All fishing guides need to successfully pass the Kenai River Guide Academy course prior to applying 

for an Alaska State Park permit.  For more information, you can contact the Kenai Peninsula College 

at (907-262-0344). A web site is also available with the KRGA information: www.krga.org. A copy 

of your Kenai River Guide academy certificate is required for registration. 

 

All new scenic or non-fishing guides are not required to attend a mandatory orientation if the 

business that they work for has a copy of their orientation and safety program on file with 

Alaska State Parks.  All scenic or non-fishing guide are still required to sign the Kenai River 

Scenic Guide Stipulations annually.   

 

3. A valid Business License for the individual business.  More information about business licenses is 

available on the State website. http://www.commerce.state.ak.us/occ/home_bus_licensing.htm  

 

4. ADF&G Business Owner/Guide License:  Applications for 2020 Saltwater and Freshwater Sport Fish 

Business Owner/Guide License applications are available at the Gilman River Center/Alaska State 

Parks and ADF&G offices located at 43961 Kalifornsky Beach Road, Suite B, Soldotna, AK 99669-

8276.  Licenses can be purchased online at: https://www.adfg.alaska.gov  

 

5. A valid U.S. Coast Guard Commercial six-passenger license. This is required by federal law of all 

powerboat operators (any vessel powered by any motor).  The telephone number for the U.S. Coast 

Guard Licensing is 907-271-6736. 

 

6. Power boat operators: Documentation with expiration date that shows you are registered with a U.S. 

Coast Guard Certified and approved random drug testing program. Kenai River guides who hold 

Coast Guard licenses to operate a vessel under power must provide proof of their enrollment in a 

random drug testing program (per Coast Guard requirements).  

Non-Power boat operators: Unless otherwise registered in a random drug testing program, Kenai 

River fishing guides who operate non-motorized vessels are required to provide proof of a negative 

drug test administered no more than 30 days before the date of having their permit issued.  

 

7. Applicants for sport fishing guide permits may not have been convicted of a felony within the past 

five years and may not have been convicted of more than one misdemeanor violation of a provision 

of 5 AAC47-5AAC 75 (Fish and Game regulations) within the past five years.   

 

8. A valid Alaska Sport Fishing License and Tags. (Required of all operators taking clients sport fishing 

(5 AAC 75.075(c)(3).). You may also purchase fishing licenses via the Internet: 

https://www.adfg.alaska.gov or any vendor authorized to sell licenses 

 

9. A current driver’s license or government issued picture I.D. 
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10. A current State of Alaska Boat Registration card is required for all power boats and non-powered 

boats used for guided sport fishing. The Boat registration must be carried aboard the boat whenever it 

is in operation. The boat registration form and more information about the program are available 

from the Department of Motor Vehicles on the State web site. The address is 

http://doa.alaska.gov/dmv/forms/forms.htm. If you have questions please contact the DMV in the Red 

Diamond Center on Kalifornsky Beach Road or call them at (907) 262-4681. 

 

11. The permittee shall furnish proof to the authorizing officer that he/she has commercial liability 

insurance to cover commercial operations and such insurance will be approved by the authorizing 

officer. A minimum of $100,000 per person/$300,000 combined single limit per occurrence 

commercial liability insurance is required and the policy MUST name:   

“State of Alaska as additional insured”. 

All certificates must provide a 30-day prior written notice to the Kenai Area Superintendent: Division 

of Parks and Outdoor Recreation; Gilman River Center; 514 Funny River Road; Soldotna, Alaska 

99669; telephone: (907) 714-2471; fax: (907) 260-5992, of cancellations, non-renewal or material 

alteration of such insurance or lapse of insurance. 

 

12. A valid American Red Cross Basic First Aid certification or the equivalent, with expiration date. 

 

13. Proof of Alaska State Vehicle and Boat Trailer registration. Alaska law requires that vehicles be 

registered in Alaska once the owner begins working in the state. Any vehicles or boat trailers used for 

a guide business need to be registered commercially. Contact the Division of Motor Vehicles in the 

Red Diamond Center of Kalifornsky Beach Road or at (907) 262-4681 if you have questions. 

 

14. A $100.00 non-refundable permit application processing fee will be applied in addition to all State 

Park commercial operator permit application fees. 

 

• The commercial operator fee for Kenai River Fishing Guides commercial permits is $1000.00 

for residents and non-residents.  

• The fee for commercial activities permit, other than guided sport fishing conducted in the Kenai 

River Special Management Area, has changed and remains $350.00 for residents and non-

residents (total of 450.00 including application processing fee). The permit fees cover all 

employees of the business at no additional charge. 

15. End of season report: Scenic guides who provide scenic tours on the Kenai River are now 

required to submit an end of season report on or before December 1 of the permitted season. If you 

are an employer make sure you list ALL your employees’ names on the use report. The report is due 

whether you conducted commercial activities in a unit of the State Park system or not.  A new online 

system is being developed stage and will be available by August 2020. 

 

16. Signed Stipulations 

 

In person permitting will be done by appointment only. Please call 907-714-2471 to make an appointment.  

http://doa.alaska.gov/dmv/forms/forms.htm

